US Faith Leaders Gathered to Accelerate Climate Action

Sixteen leaders from US denominations convened in a historic interfaith roundtable at Auburn Seminary in New York City on November 14th to collaborate on urgently needed climate action. Considering the current status of climate impacts and advancements on solutions, the group discussed how to foster greater engagement of clergy, congregations, and denominations to accelerate climate ambition, restoration, and justice. The National Faith Leaders Climate Roundtable, convened by ecoAmerica’s Blessed Tomorrow program, gathered around the urgency and opportunity of the IPCC goal of seven years to make significant progress toward climate solutions, beginning in 2023. They recognized the significance of the number seven across faith traditions, and how it offers a profound framework to champion climate justice as a spiritual and ethical issue. 

Back Row, Left to Right: Dr. Willie Gable, Chair of the Housing and Economic Development Commission of the National Baptist Convention, USA Progressive Baptists, Rabbi Rick Jacobs, President, Union for Reform Judaism, Imam Mohamed Magid, Former President, Islamic Society of North America,Reverend Dr. Terri Hord Owens, General Minister and President, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Reverend Dr. Carmelo Santos, Director for Theological Diversity and Theological & Inter-Religious Engagement, Office of the Presiding Bishop, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Bishop David Rice, The Right Reverend (Bishop), The Episcopal Church, Diocese of San Joaquin, Dr. Antonios “Tony” Kireopoulos, Associate General Secretary, National Council of Churches, Sergei Kapral, Proto Deacon, Orthodox Church in America, Minister Glen Guyton, Executive Director, Mennonite Church USA, Reverend Dr. John Dorhaurer, General Minister & President, United Church of Christ, Robert Perkowitz,  Founder & President, ecoAmerica, Reverend Dr. J. Herbert Nelson, Stated Clerk of the General Assembly, Presbyterian Church (USA), and Carl Murrell, Principal United Nations Representative National Spiritual Assembly,  Baha’is of the United States

Front Row, Left to Right: Brunhilda Williams-Curington, Program Assistant to the Stated Clerk, Presbyterian Church (USA), Bishop Vashti McKenzie, Interim President & General Secretary National Council of Churches, Reverend Carol Devine, Blessed Tomorrow Director, ecoAmerica, Dr. Betty Holley, Payne Theological Seminary, Meighen Speiser, Executive Director, ecoAmerica, Carole Collins, Co-Executive Director, Alliance of Baptists, and Ashley Lane, Events Director, ecoAmerica, Tamar Anitai, Director of Strategic Communications Central Conference of American Rabbis – not pictured