Nearly 200 apply for the American Climate Leadership Awards 2020

The American Climate Leadership Awards 2020 is excited to announce that they received 195 applications with a strong mix of health, faith, communities, and youth applicants.

ecoAmerica staff is conducting an initial screening of each applicant, ensuring the application is complete, verifying credentials and evaluating the project. The top 30 applications will move on to the next stage in the Selection Process.  


Director of the Center for Climate, Health, & the Global Environment at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and Former EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy will preside over the awards ceremony and committee, comprised of eight luminaries in climate action, including climate hero Gus Speth, American Public Health Association Executive Director Dr. Georges Benjamin, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities President Dr. Antonio Flores, Salt Lake City Mayor Jackie Biskupski, Zero Hour Founder Jamie Margolin, Tó Nizhóní Ání Executive Director Nicole Horseherder, The Climate Mobilization Founder and Executive Director Margaret Klein Salamon, and African Methodist Episcopal Church Bishop Vashti McKenzie.

In early December, the top 30 semifinalist applicants will be invited to submit a more detailed application. Members of the Selections Committee will select up to ten finalists. Winners will be notified of their selection by mid-March.

$155,000 in CASH AWARDS

Please return here or follow ecoAmerica’s social media channels to read about the finalists, and join us at the American Climate Leadership Summit on March 25th and 26th 2020 in Washington DC when the 10 winning leaders and organizations winners will be announced and awarded $155,000.

 If you have additional questions, you can contact us at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *